Lexington, Kentucky

There is no place in America that I love more than Lexington, Kentucky. It is home to some of the greenest grass I have ever seen, spanning for miles and miles on end. The rolling hills and wheat fields sway so gently in the fall breeze that it’s captivating to watch. Even when I sit here writing at the desk in my room from Raleigh, North Carolina, I can still envision the sun beating down on the cobble stone Fire department situated off the side of Man O War Street in Lexington. The latter months sure can get cold, but trust me, there is no amount of cold that the Kentucky sunshine stops for.

For as long as I can remember, my family and I have always gone to Kentucky every other year for Christmas and Thanksgiving. My father, a Wildcat born and bred, moved to Durham, North Carolina when he was ten years old. Almost everyone on my father’s side of the family still lives in Lexington and around the Nashville, Tennessee area. My great grandmother’s quaint little home in Lexington has always been the hot spot for family gatherings on my dad’s side of the family. Everyone goes to Granny and Granddaddy’s house for the holidays. I have gotten very accustomed to making the nine to ten hour drive from Durham to Lexington over the past nineteen years of my life. I love my family more than life itself, and as a six year old child, I can still vividly remember jamming out to Jet and Green Day CD’s with my father while we sped through the West Virginia mountains. Some of the best memories with my mom, dad, brother and sister have been made during the car rides to Kentucky, so I hope to carry on the tradition with my own family one day in the future.

The outskirts of Lexington, Kentucky are gorgeous. While the weather is seasonal, the landscape always remains the same, and I love the sense of familiarity that it holds. One of my favorite things to do in the fall in Lexington is go to the pumpkin patch. Whenever I go with my family, my sister and I bundle up in leggings and a flannel and roam the rows of pumpkins, searching for the most round and plump. Across the street from our favorite pumpkin patch is a vintage consignment store overflowing with outdoor furniture, clothing, dishes, and just about anything else you can think of. After thirty minutes spent turning over and examining every pumpkin known to the patch, my sister and I will finally have chosen our pumpkins. My mother, on the other hand, loves the white pumpkins, so she spend much more time searching for her perfect pumpkin. While my dad loads the pumpkins into the trunk of the car my sister and I carefully dart across the street to the consignment store. The store is an old home converted into a business. The outside structure is mainly composed of rustic, old glass with a metal lining holding each piece in place. It reminds me of a building that you would see in a Harry Potter film, except the greenery spiraling up the right side of the house makes it look much more inviting. The front door is off centered on the left hand side of the house just above four little steps and a railing leading from the ground. A couple of willow trees and regular trees with massive trunks tower over the house from behind to shade it from the happy sun above. The cold air drops a couple of degrees the closer you get to the house because not much sun gets past the greenery dangling from each trees branch. I could spend hours walking up and down the creaking stairs of this old house just browsing through the trashed belongings of hundreds, maybe thousands, of people. Some people may consider this type of day boring, but I love the calm atmosphere and adventure that takes place outside of the mainstream city life. There is obviously a lot to do in Lexington other than patrol the outskirts of the Bluegrass State, and many of my favorites have to do with the Wildcats.

Baby Chandler grew up wearing UK cheerleading outfits and t-shirts every day of the week. I love watching basketball with my dad, so going to my first Kentucky basketball game with him at Rupp Arena was beyond fun. Rupp Arena is huge and can hold up to 23,500 people. If you ever find yourself looking for something to do in Lexington, I would recommend going to a Kentucky basketball game, or even a football game at Kroger Field.

My grandfather lives in Frankfort, Kentucky which is just between Lexington and Louisville. About ten minutes down the road from his house is a lake that we would always go to if we visited in the summer. My grandfathers boat was kept at a small dock on the lake that attached to a restaurant and convenient store. I loved eating there after a long day of swimming because it overlooked the lake from above, but mostly because it was air conditioned. Aside from having a nice cool breeze and food, it was a pretty view. On the occasion that my parents want to go venture into town, Lexington has shopping malls and centers, movie theaters, museums, and many other attractions. I don’t know what it is about being in Kentucky, but I love exploring the less populated areas of the state. The beauty of the old, run down barns pair well with the green grassy fields that look as if they could go on forever. Lexington has always been very relaxing, and the people who live there are laid back, country men and women. I feel at home whenever I visit. This year for Thanksgiving when my family and I return to the Bluegrass State, I will sit outdoors listening to my grandfather and his band play at a festival and be reminded of just how much I love this little piece of heaven.

Leave a Reply

